The Artist: Movie makeup, in black and white


Jean Dujardin and Bérénice Bejo in The Artist. Image from http://www.imdb.com

The Oscar nominated movie, The Artist, may not have been nominated for a best makeup Oscar (although they did get nominated for a BAFTA award for best makeup and hair,  TBA Feb 12th). It does bring up the question about doing makeup for black and white film.

You don’t see many period based, black and white feature films being release.  The process for creating makeup looks for black and white film is different from working in color, since you are basically seeing shades of grey on the big screen.

I know what I was taught in school…. how certain colors film differently, or don’t show up at all when filming in black and white. However, I thought it would be a good idea to ask someone who has been working in the business a bit longer than I have.

I decided to find out who the makeup department head was on The Artist to get a few pointers.  During my research I found that the H.O.D. is THE Julie Hewett! Makeup artist to the stars and entrepreneur. I am sure you are familiar with her makeup line by the same name, including the ever popular Camellia Balm that has been on the lips (literally) of so many makeup lovers out there.

So, wish me luck, I am emailing Julie Hewett today to see if she will send me a few pointers on doing makeup for a black and white feature film.  I suspect I won’t hear anything over the weekend, but keep your fingers crossed for next week. I will let you know what I find out!

Learn more about Julie Hewett on…

THE Julie Hewett. Image from http://www.juliehewett.net

Twitter: @JulieHewett
Facebook: Julie Hewett Los Angeles (Official)
Tumblr: Julie Hewett
Website: www.juliehewett.net

Check out the trailer for The Artist from TrailersApplecom’s Channel

Since I always like to give a nod to the hard-working people who make movies so much fun to watch, here is the list from IMDB on the makeup artist and hairstylist that worked on The Artist

Makeup Department for The Artist
Cydney Cornell …. department head hair stylist
Clarisse Domine …. key makeup artist
Jed Dornoff …. makeup artist
Kelcey Fry …. makeup artist
Jenni Brown Greenberg …. makeup artist
Zoe Hay …. key makeup artist
Julie Hewett …. makeup department head
Adruitha Lee …. hair stylist
Lydia Milars …. makeup artist
Maha Saade …. makeup artist
Lynn Tully …. key hair stylist
Angie Wells …. makeup day player
Karen Zanki …. hair stylist (uncredited)
Joy Zapata …. hair stylist (uncredited)

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you are thinking. I would love to hear from you!

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Examiner.com Articles: LA Makeup Examiner

One thought on “The Artist: Movie makeup, in black and white

Leave a comment