Shame and inspiration


Shame… 

My sister, Almitra, recently shamed me by starting ablog called Productive Mommy. I say shamed me, because she is a stay at home mom with a 3 yr old and a 5 month old.  While she doesn’t always have time for a shower, she has time to blog. Some may think that being a stay-at-home mom is an easy job, but not when you have two little ones. I went to visit her for a month, to help her out when the new baby was born. I was so exhausted after the first few days I was ready to give up and go back home!  So that fact that Almitra is able to blog and take care of a family  is astounding!

…and Inspiration

I have to say that I am very proud of my sister for starting the blog Productive Mommy. I say “shamed” jokingly as Almitra has NEVER said anything negative to me about not blogging regularly. She is always very uplifting and positive about whatever I do (or don’t do). The shame I feel is from within me. However I should say that after I got past the internal shame, I felt inspired to do more. Here’s hoping to continue to be inspired.

So what’s been up with me?  

Here are a few things that I am working on and I hope to show photos and progress soon.

  • Old age makeup  – My boyfriend, Bruce, let me borrow a halfcast of his face. I am sculpting a forehead and cheek pieces. At least that’s the plan.  I want to float them off and create thin pros aide transfers  (or Tinsley Transfers… depending on who you ask) for application.
  • I recorded an interview with Bruce Spaulding Fuller that has some interesting, amusing and helpful info that I would like to post soon. Even though we are dating, it was educational to interview him about how he got started in the makeup fx industry.
  • I have some hair pieces in the works – A few mustaches and weft wig for my sister.
  • For on set work, I am budgeting for a short film that may or may not happen (There are no guarantees in this line of work). Plus I have been writing about a few makeup events for Examiner.com. 

Just trying to stay busy and inspired. Hopefully my random makeup musing will inspire, or at least entertain others as well. And that is nothing to be ashamed of.  😉

One thought on “Shame and inspiration

Leave a Reply

