The A.L.E Theory


clockLadyA.L.E. = Always Leave Early
In the world of production, time is money. Whether it’s film, TV, or the web, there is someone one paying for you and everyone else to be there. Unless you are working a student film or as a PA and you are working for free. But even then, you want your time to be respected.   You don’t want to be the one who’s holding up the show because you are caught in traffic or can’t find parking. I am just speaking from my experience and from talking to other makeup artist. Being late can mean loosing your current and/or future jobs.

TrafficTraffic
Whenever I get a gig I map out where I am going at least the day before. Usually using Google Maps. I pay attention to the time Google gives for that destination. If it says it will take 30 mins to drive there in regular traffic, I triple the time. However, I live in Los Angeles, so it takes a long to go anywhere, especially in rush hour traffic.  You can judge for yourself based on where you live, but give yourself a 30 min buffer. This will allow you time to park, grab some coffee and have all your things set up ahead of time.

ParkingMeterParking
If it’s not on the call sheet, I ask about parking. Is it free? Do they reimburse, are there streets I should avoid? Most call sheets will have this information, but on some low-budget productions, there was no parking information and it was a real nightmare. Just like Los Angeles traffic, the parking can be a real pain in the keister. If you arrive on time, but it takes you 30 minutes to park, then you are still late.

MakeupBrushesSet up
Setting up my kit only takes a few minutes but those could be precious minutes you spend making the cast look good… or bad… or however they are supposed to look. Some production sets don’t allow anyone to come set up before call time. But if it is possible to come in 10 minutes early to put everything together and be ready as soon as the talent walks in it will help put you ahead of the game. Of course if you are on a set where you can “walk away” and leave everything safely behind overnight, that’s even better. But you better be damn sure that the set is locked tight because you are leaving your bread and butter behind.

You can be too early
Some locations don’t allow crew on until the exact call time. If you do come on the location early, they will fine the production. In this case, I will come early and then find a Starbucks (there’s one on every corner practically) or just chill in my car and read. At least I know I am in the right place and I am ready to go.

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you are thinking. Have you got any stories you’d like to share? I would love to hear from you!

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Examiner.com Articles: LA Makeup Examiner

Leave a Reply

