Happy Labor Day


My sister, the professionally trained journalist, checks up on my blog from time to time. Even though she has the full-time job of motherhood.

TYPOS!
My sister, Mimi, sent me a text to say that my last blog was great, but it was also a mess of typos.  When I went back and read it I was horrified. Sometimes when you post as soon as you write it, it’s hard to see your mistakes. Luckily someone is reading my blog that can tell me. Even though it’s not her job, and she is not getting paid, she helps me anyway. Many thanks Mimi!

Happy Labor Day
Speaking of working, today is the day that we celebrate people who work. According to the US Department of Labor website “Labor Day, the first Monday in September, is a creation of the labor movement and is dedicated to the social and economic achievements of American workers. It constitutes a yearly national tribute to the contributions workers have made to the strength, prosperity, and well-being of our country.”

Special fx & beauty makeup artist Ashley Hooker (right) laboring at her craft.

Raise your brush… or glass
So here’s to all the hard-working makeup artist, both in beauty and special fx, who work 12+ hour days on set. The unsung heroes toiling away to make sure the TV shows, movies, videos and fashion shows we watch and the magazine we read more beautiful, or grotesques but definitely more interesting everyday.

Now, I am going to come back and read this tomorrow and fix whatever typos I missed.

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you are thinking. I would love to hear from you!

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Examiner.com Articles: LA Makeup Examiner

Leave a Reply

