A mustache was causing me stress, but Brittany helped me see the light


Does this mustache make me look fat?

Things are not always what they seem
So, I went to a production meeting this evening, for a comedy project I was hired on,  only to find that the original information I was given about the shoot was incorrect. There were 13 cast members, not 4. There are three females, not 1, and they wanted a mustache. Plus we were shooting a day sooner than I was originally told. The meeting was on Thursday, which means we are shooting on Friday. Most of the actors are male, so they require a lot less work than women.  However I was a little worried about the mustache. I only had this evening to get one and it was already after 5pm when the production meeting was over.

Running into Brittany
I immediately got in my car and raced to Naimie’s Beauty Center, but they were closed. Then I raced to Nigel’s Beauty Emporium, and  thankfully, they were open late (it was a miracle!).  While in the store I ran into Brittany, one of the ladies from the Hair and Makeup Artist Network. When I told her about my delima with the mustache, she looked at me a little funny and said, “But I thought you liked making hand-tied hair pieces?”  “I do” I said, “But I don’t think I will have enough time to hand-tie a mustache and be ready for set tomorrow.”

I won’t let a mustache push me around
Then I thought about what she said, and it dawned on me. I am good with hand-tied pieces and I actually have some mustaches at home that I had made a while back, just to stay in practice.  What was I so worried about? I think I let the idea of extra actors, the changed schedule and the sudden request for facial hair get to me. But in this business you have to roll with the punches and do the best you can. I was stressing out over nothing. Luckily, Brittany brought me back to my senses.  I went home and pulled the three black mustaches that I already had completed and  put them in my kit. I also put in some extra loose hair. If worse comes to worse I can hand lay a mustache pretty quickly.  Thanks Brittany, glad I ran into you!

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you are thinking. I would love to hear from you!

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Examiner.com Articles: LA Makeup Examiner

Leave a Reply

