Saturday set etiquette


I was talking to a makeup artist friend the other day and I mentioned that the last time I was on set, we were shooting French Hours. She looked at me funny and asked what  I was talking about. She told me they didn’t go over set etiquette, or industry terms at the makeup school she attended. Interestingly enough she was not the first person that told me that.  I have met more than a few makeup artist that recently graduated, with intentions of working in film or television, but there school did not review crew job descriptions or industry terms.

When I attended Vancouver Film School, they tested us on industry terms and crew job descriptions. It was a lot to remember, several pages in fact, and I am sure there were things that we probably didn’t get a chance to cover. Knowing the lingo on a film  set can help you understand what’s happening and possibly help you avoid an embarrassing situation. So I thought that it would be a good idea every Saturday to go over a different crew job or industry term.

Today’s industry term is:
French Hours
This is a shooting day that allows for one sit-down breakfast at the start of the day follow by nine straight hours of shooting without a break, after which point wrap is called. Food is served to the crew at various points throughout the day and they grab a quick bite as they are working. This is usually used when trying to get the production back on schedule after an extremely long day, or when trying to maximize certain outdoor lighting conditions. Sometimes called Pacific Northwest Hours in British Columbia.

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave a comment and let me know what you are thinking. If there is a specific industry term you have questions about, I would love to hear from you!

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Examiner.com Articles: LA Makeup Examiner

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

