FameHog helps industry professionals market themselves


I have been hearing about the the website FameHog.com in passing for about a year now. While looking up some famous special effects makeup artist I ran across the website.

Makeup artist are happy people…
At first I thought that FameHog was just some blighter’s attempt to take advantage of starving makeup artist looking for work. However, when I found out that one of the cofounders, Jason Hamer, is a special effects makeup artist himself, I decided to take a closer look. It doesn’t mean he is not a blighter (I don’t know the man), I am just saying that it makes me more hopeful that this website is providing a useful service.  Plus, I find that special effect makeup artist are usually quite friendly people. I think it’s all the chemicals that we deal with. I always get the giggles after I use Crystal Clear on my finished sculpts.

What is FameHog?
I would describe the site as a business website for industry professionals (anyone working in film or television) to post their resumes and audio, video or  image portfolios. It also has a listing to search for talent. One testimonial on their website says “is like IMDBPro on steroids

Screenshot of the photo profile/photo gallery part of the FameHog website

How much does it cost?
There are two levels of FameHog membership based on your storage needs. But most people use the 50mb plan

COST:
50mb of space

$9.95 billed monthly, or pay 99.95 all at once for the for the full year 

Unlimited space
$19.95 billed monthly, or pay 199.95 all at once for the for the full year 

It seems like a reasonable price to pay to get a professional presence on the web. However, not everyone is accepted. They vet all application to make sure you are serious. I wonder if I would pass the vetting process?
What about those looking for talent?
I wanted to see what the talent search looked like on the site, but you have to sign up for that. Those hiring can look for 3 months for free, but then they have to pony up the cash as well.  At least you know that those who contact your through FameHog are serious.

So what makes FameHog different?
So far it looks like a one stop shopping area for anyone  hiring talent for film and TV. Plus, it has a clean, cohesive, professional and user friendly look. You don’t have to fish through a bunch of crap to find someone’s contact info.

Maybe I am just another blighter?
I will contact Jason Hamer to see if he can give us a few more reasons why they are different and learn more about their screening criteria.  I will also see if I can get accepted. I am not sure how I stack up to their current members –  Christien Tinsley,  Eryn Krueger Mekash and Steve Wang. Next to them I probably look like just another blighter, with tub of silicone and bottle of Telesis. But then again, you never know…. miracles happen everyday!

Find out more on:

Website: www.famehog.com
Twitter: @famehog
Facebook: Famehog
YouTube: Famehog

Check out this article from Make-Up Artist Magazine about FameHog

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!

Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you are thinking. If you have a profile on the FameHog website, I would love to hear from you!

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Examiner.com Articles: LA Makeup Examiner

All images from http://www.famehog.com

Leave a Reply

