5 tips for taking care of yourself on set


I’m Back Baby!
I was off the grid for a few days while working on a short film, which I spent the weekend recovering from. Some days we worked overnight, some days were regular daytime hours. Luckily, the production I was working on scheduled some down time and staggered the call times to allow the crew to rest.  Still when you are outside in the elements, and on your feet for 12 or more hours a day, it’s a good idea to take care of your health. If you get run down or catch a cold, there is no paid time off, or sick days (unless you are union maybe).

5 tips for taking care of yourself on set

1.) Stay hydrated
I am guilty of limiting my water intake so I don’t have to go.  Believe me, I understand that waiting in line behind 7 grips, to use the facilities after lunch, is no fun. Especially when you are out in the middle of nowhere, with one port-a-potty, a full crew and no where to wash your hands. However, your body is 75% water, and the lack of water can cause headaches and dehydration, as well as many other health issues. There is always plenty of bottled water at Crafty, so take advantage of it.

Note: Stay away from a lot of coffee or soda which can dehydrate you even more. Also, be sure and have your own stash of baby wipes and hand sanitizer. They will come in handy after the port-a-potty trips.

2.) Eat breakfast
Although I have never been on set that didn’t provide something to eat before lunch. As a makeup artist, I often don’t have the time to stop at Crafty for breakfast, let alone eat it before the talent arrives in my chair. I usually schedule a few extra minutes in the morning for a big bowl of oatmeal at home. If I don’t have time to eat at home, I will eat a protein bar and fruit on the way to set. Eating a good breakfast can help you stay focused on the job instead of your tummy.

3.)Eat your fruits & veggies:
It’s the productions responsibility to feed you, not to make sure you eat healthy. Although most sets I have been on, do a pretty good job of offering healthier choices when they can afford it.
Eating junk food all day can make you sluggish and wreak havoc with your intestinal track (or maybe that’s just me?). I try to bring my favorite fruits and veggies in a small cooler. Sometime I will pick up pre-cut fruit bowls at the grocery store to save time.  Or even one of those juice drinks can be helpful. Brands like Odwalla Superfood and Bolthouse make tasty, flash pasteurized veggie/fruit mixes that help you get your daily dose of goodness.

4.)Take your vitamins
There is some debate on whether or not vitamins do any good. I believe they do, but you can do the research and decide for yourself. Also, I am not a doctor and I believe you should check with your doctor before trying any new supplements.

Personally, I take a multi-vitamin tablet and a liquid vitamin B12 complex that gives me an extra boost of energy.  I am also a bit older and have to keep up with people 10 to 15 years younger than I am. So, I need a little extra sumthin’, sumthin’.

5.)SLEEP!
Don’t discount the power of the pillow. It may be tempting to do other things when you get home after working on set, but you need your rest. A good nights rest can help you be more alert and focused the next day. I try to schedule 8 hrs when possible. I also limit the amount of TV and even phone usage and focus only on what is necessary to be prepared for the next day. I print out my call sheet, clean and repack my kit, check the directions to the next location, set my clothes out. You get the picture, anything to save time, make my morning less stressful and give me a few more minutes of shut-eye before the alarm goes off.

I hope this was helpful. Now, if only I would consistently take my own advice, I would be a lot better off.

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you are thinking. I would love to hear from you!

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Examiner.com Articles: LA Makeup Examiner

All images from office.microsoft.com

Leave a Reply

