Boycotting Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance


Image from Facebook event: Join the Ghostrider Boycott!

While perusing Facebook, I came across a status from Steve Wang (an AMAZING creature effects master) who posted a link to boycott the new Marvel/Disney movie, Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance.

Disney goes after Ghost Rider creator with a vengeance
Ghost Rider comic creator, 68 year old Gary Friedrich, sued Disney for a portion of the revenue from the Ghost Rider franchise.  Apparently he lost and then Disney, in all their magnificence,  counter sued Friedrich for $17,000 and to prevent him selling his original artwork at conventions and the like.  Why does Disney have to crap on the little guy? A little guy who is broke and has a severe medical condition. Some say Friedrich is about to lose his house because of the lawsuit. I guess Disney likes to make sick, elderly people homeless. Talk about kicking ’em when they are down!

I was going to see the movie before I heard about this, but now I am so disgusted that there is no way they are getting my money!

An artist in need
Steve Wang posted a link to donate to Friedrich, who is in dire need, due to the lawsuit and his illness. So I decided to donate the money I would have spent on the movie ticket.

If you would like to donate click here Donate to Gary Friedrich.  It’s an article from steveniles.com, and under the picture there is a donate button that lets you give through PayPal. Along with a thank you note from Friedrich and his wife and a link to Friedrich’s Facebook page.

What would you do?
I am not telling you that you should donate. I am not going to say “don’t see the movie.” I am just letting you know how I feel and what I did.  I am not affiliated with Gary Friedrich, Steve Niles, or Bob Luedke in any way.  It just really sticks in my  craw when creative people get the crap end of the stick, while big corporations cash in. Not only did the little guy lose, but he got squashed under Disney’s legal juggernaut, goose-stepping boots.  I could not just stand by and do nothing.

Check out the Facebook page Join the Ghostrider Boycott! by By Bob Luedke

Disney kicks Friedrich when he is down. Image from Gary Friedrich's Facebook page


Don’t just take my word for it, check out other articles from various website, or research for yourself:
foo-gos.com – Boycott Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance
http://www.comicrelated.com –  Comic Fans Speak On Real World David Verses Goliath Tale
http://www.newsfromme.com – Uneasy Rider
http://www.icv2.com – ‘Ghost Rider’ Creator Owes Marvel $17 Grand
http://www.hollywoodreporter.com – Art Auctions Raising Money for ‘Ghost Rider’ Co-Creator Gary Friedrich

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you are thinking. I would love to hear from you!

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Examiner.com Articles: LA Makeup Examiner

2 thoughts on “Boycotting Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance

  1. Thanks for letting us know! How terrible! Shame on Disney! Like it needs $17,000. I bet they spend that on toilet paper for the executive washroom in one day!

Leave a Reply

