Top 5 Valentine’s Day movies with special effects


A wild Korean love story

My pick of 5 Valentine’s Day movies with special fx. No, Twilight did not make the list! I sat through the first one, but I can’t bear to sit through anymore without gouging my eyes out with a hot poker.  I have some friends that might not speak to me for a while for what I just said, but… oh well. However I did pick a few vampire flicks.

So if you are interested in watching something besides Titanic, When Harry Met Sally, or The Notebook (all great movies btw), read on.

How did I pick the movies? Well, it’s based 3 criteria:

  1. Has to be a movie that I saw and enjoyed
  2. Has to have a love theme
  3. There have to be special makeup fx in the movie, which may or may not be scary.

A problem I ran into was that I wanted to list all the people who worked on the makeup for these movies. Unfortunately, there just isn’t enough room. In those cases I added links to the imdb page with the complete list of the crew. I can only image all the hard work that each makeup department went through to bring such creative works to life. It is greatly appreciated. Much love to all of you!

The movies are in no particular order, I hope you enjoy them and the trailers I found on YouTube.

1.)Penelope (2006)
Director:Mark Palansky
Makeup:  Scott Stoddard,Liz Tagg
Heiriss Penelope Wilhern (Christina Ricci) is cursed, and the only way out is to fall in love with one of her own ilk. Her mother is hell-bent on finding her a mate, but Penelope just wants to be free.  I am a sucker for a good fairy tale with a twist and that’s just what this is.  Scott Stoddard did an excellent job making her nose very piggy, but cute as a button!

Penelope movie trailer from TrailerSource on YouTube

2.)Let  The Right One In (2008)
Låt den rätte komma in (original title)
Director: Tomas Alfredson
Makeup:  See imdb.com for a complete list
A Swedish love story between a little boy and girl. The boy is constantly bullied at school and the girl just happens to have a taste for blood.  It’s totally worth reading the subtitles. There is a US  remake called Let Me In (2010).  Even though it is almost the same, shot by shot,  I don’t think it’s as good as the original. There are so many people that worked on the makeup in this beautiful movie and since I couldn’t discern who was in charge, I have a link to the complete list on imdb.com.

Let The Right One In Official Movie Trailer HD

3.)Bram Stoker’s Dracula (1992)
Director: Francis Ford Coppola
Makeup: Greg Cannom, Michèle Burke and Matthew W. Mungle
While some people  might poo poo this addition (mostly because of Keanu Reeves), I still love this movie for the amazing special fx, AND I think Gary Oldman rocks the sh*t in this movie.   Let’s not forget that it also won Greg Cannom, Michèle Burke and Matthew W. Mungle an Oscar for Best Makeup that year. The entire makeup department is too numerous to mention here. See imdb.com for a complete list.

4.)The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (2008)
Director: David Fincher 
Makeup
: Greg Cannom 
This is definitely a love story, not just between the characters Daisy and Benjamin but also with Benjamin’s adopted mom and biological father. And who could forget the intricate weaving of particle and visual effects that so cleverly fool the eyes. Greg Cannom won an Oscar for Best Makeup that year. The makeup department was too big for me to list here, see imdb.com for a complete list of the wonderful people that put this together.

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button’ Trailer from the AssociatedPress YouTubeChannel


5.) Thirst (2009)
Bakjwi (original title)
Director: Chan-wook Park
Makeup: Jong-hee Song
In this Korean love story a catholic  priest volunteers his body for medical experiments,  but ends up with a taste for blood and other sinful delights, including a comely young woman. It’s a crazy, punch-drunk love story, that draws you in. Some scenes I didn’t want to watch but couldn’t look away. The blood work, the cinematography, the squishy sounds, the forbidden romance.  LOVE THIS MOVIE!

Thirst- Official Trailer (2009) from HitFix

6.)Repo Men (2010)
Director: Miguel Sapochnik
Makeup: Donald Mowat, Andy Clement, David Monzingo,  Lancel Reyes and Chad Washam
A tender tale of a once heartless man who collects organs from the living, for a living. He soon learns to sympathize with others after he comes delinquent on his new heart.  It’s not just a romance but a bit of a bro-mance as well. I didn’t think I would like this movie because it is a bit far fetched, but Forest Whitaker and Jude Law rock the house. Also, there is an weirdly erotic scene toward the end of the movie between Jude Law and Alice Braga in the vault. If you are queasy about people getting cut open, this ain’t for you.

Repo Men Trailer (HD) from TheTubeTrailer

Ok, so I lied… it’s actually six movies, but I couldn’t decide which one to cut out! Just think of it as getting a bit of a bonus.  HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!!!

What are your favorite  movies during this time of amour?

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you are thinking. I would love to hear from you!


Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Examiner.com Articles: LA Makeup Examiner

Leave a Reply

