Tip from LearnMakeupEffects.com: Take lots of pics!


I recently mentioned Stuart Bray’s blog www.LearnMakeupEffects.com/blog/ where Stuart talks about various special fx projects he is working on, and also provides how-to’s.
Anyway, I signed up for his mailing list to get the free 7 part mini ecourse he offered. What I didn’t realize was there is the added benefit of his emailed tips and tricks.
Normally, I am not one for getting a lot of email. I hate the feeling of being spammed when businesses send two or three emails a day.  However, I was pleased to see the emails from Stuart. He doesn’t send them too often and he has some good tips. Stuart was nice enough to let me share part of his email tip with you today.
See more of  Stuarts work at http://www.learnmakeupeffects.com/imats-2012-makeup-part-3/

Stuart suggest that you take lots of pics of your work, like these he took of his work. Check out his blog to see the final product.

Stuart’s email tip on taking photos of your work:
“….Talking of pictures, I always advise people who are experimenting
with makeup effects and prosthetics to take pictures of
everything-especially the things that go wrong.  The reason for
this is to keep a record of your work so that it can be examined at
a later date and you can go back and identify your problems in
order to fix them.
Most people hate to take pictures of work that screwed up, but if
you do then you’ll be in a much better position to really analyse
it later.  You can get advice from others as well as look at it
yourself with fresh eyes.  Often things look wrong, but you can’t
get a fix on why. You just know it ain’t right!
You don’t have to put them on facebook…but I do urge that you
photograph everything.
You never know when it might come in useful.”

This may sound simplistic, but you’d be surprised by how many times people forget to take pictures because they are so involved in the process.

Learn more about Learn Makeup Effects on….

Website: www.LearnProstheticMakeup.com
Blog: www.LearnMakeupEffects.com/blog/
YouTube: www.youtube.com/user/stuartbray73

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you are thinking. I would love to hear from you!

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Examiner.com Articles: LA Makeup Examiner

All images from www.learnmakeupeffects.com

2 thoughts on “Tip from LearnMakeupEffects.com: Take lots of pics!

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it
    or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is magnificent blog.
    An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

    • Thanks so much for your comment and compliment. Your critique was very courteous and I appreciate that.
      If there is anything in particular you want me to write about, let me know.
      Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

