Can a 10 minute zombie makeup look be good enough for film?


Can this be done in 10 minutes? The transition from living to walking dead is no small feat. Image from blogs.amctv.com Walking Dead photo gallery

The zombie email misunderstanding I blogged about a few days ago got me thinking. The director wanted extensive zombie makeup that would be ready to film in 10 minutes. I am not just talking about blood and bruise, but skin hanging, wounds, exposed bone, the works! Plus, the director wanted it done dirt cheap… like 99 cent store dirt cheap. However, without a magic wand I wasn’t too confident this could be done. Even thought I am not on that project, sometimes I toss and turn at night thinking about how it could be accomplished.

There is a lot of work involved in taking a healthy human being and making them look dead. Not to mention adding the car accident type injuries that accompany this look.

What a feat that would be if I could do a quality, film ready, 10 minute zombie makeup! I would be hailed by my peers as a genius. They would carry me on their shoulder and sing “We Are The Champions” while showering me with rose petals and palm leaves.

YES… how can I make this happen? I could do pre-painted, thin Tinsley Transfers but they can’t afford the pros aide. Which means I will be working with latex, tissue and a few Rice Crispies. I have a plaster head cast. I could apply a latex & tissue build up to it, to create pieces with rotting flesh and exposed bone. Remove them from the head cast and pre-paint for faster application.  And an airbrush with the tip removed, to get a nice splatter effect, would speed up marbling the skin. I could use Golden Colors paint instead of makeup, because it is a cheaper alternative. Maybe….

Maybe I need help? I asked some makeup artist friends of mine, who told me to stop dreaming. “One makeup artist, 10 minutes and a pocket-lint makeup budget? You have got to be kidding me!” So maybe my peers won’t be tossing palm leaves at me for a while.

I haven’t got all the answers yet, but if you have a good idea for quick zombie makeup application, leave a comment and let me know.

Here is a video of the song they will sing when I finally solve the 10 minute zombie makeup quandary!


Video from the Official Queen Channel on YouTube

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you think. If you have a makeup or special fx website, I would love to hear about it.

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Examiner.com Articles: LA Makeup Examiner

One thought on “Can a 10 minute zombie makeup look be good enough for film?

  1. Here is a video I have done, of a cheap Zombie. using products that are in total probably £25! IT CAN BE DONE. fair enough it wasn’t 10 mins. but probably half an hour or so.

Leave a Reply

