From Waterbrushes to ZBrush


Here are some movies that used ZBrush.

No word from R&L
No word back yet from Royal & Langnickel (R&L). If you have been reading the past few days, I emailed them about their Aqua-Flo brushes that fell apart during their first use. I just emailed them yesterday, and today is Friday before the New Year’s Eve so I suspect they will get back to me sometime next week. Let’s hope.

New computer equipment!
While waiting for R&L to reply, today I am pleased to announce that I finally have new hardware! Now I have a machine that is capable of running programs like ZBrush by Pixologic  (Yeah baby!).  I have learned that even some of the prosthetic houses hire people who know ZBrush. This allows them to provide more options when a director comes to them and needs CG and practical effects.

ZBrush is NOT cheap (around $699), so I am going to give it the old college try and download the free 30 day trail first. In my previous carrer I worked with computers everyday, but I haven’t tickled the keyboard & mouse for money in quite a while (or at least the chance to generate income). I will let you know how it goes.

What is ZBrush?
ZBrush is a 3D sculpting and modeling program that also let’s you create illustrations in 2D & 2.5D.
Check out the ZBrush Overview page for more information.
Check out their Image Gallery to see some of the work done using ZBrush

You can do beautiful sculptures like this one from artist Rodrigue Pralier

Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you think. If you have tried ZBrush or a similar program, I would love to hear about it.

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Examiner.com Articles: LA Makeup Examiner

All images from www.pixologic.com

4 thoughts on “From Waterbrushes to ZBrush

Leave a Reply

