Projects: Steampunk pocket watch prop


Not my work. Pocket watch image from http://www.steampunkemporium.com

Making my first prop
I have to admit I have never made a prop before. So, when my nephew text me about a steampunk gambler costume he was putting together for a Sac Anime  event this coming January,  I was intrigued. I offered to help, noting that I don’t sew anymore. He told me he needed a steampunk pocket watch but couldn’t afford to buy one. He wants it to look like a large gear and have his logo on it.

I said I would do it! Lots of special effects makeup artist create props as well. I figure this would be a good small project to start with. Now I just have to figure out HOW to do it.

Getting started….I need gears!
I bought a large locket  to use as a base for the pocket watch, but what do I put in it to make it steampunkie? Can I just slap some gears on it and call it steampunk?  NO! I don’t want to do that. I was thinking I could use some sculpey to build it out. Place a clock face image inside one half and cover the image with some resin. I am also going to check thrift stores for broken watches.

However, before I start mashing stuff together, I need to do a few sketches and continue researching different Steampunk looks.

Have you made any steampunk items? If so, leave a comment, send a picture and tell me about it!

Open locket I will place watch image in.

And now, for your entertainment, here is what I guess would be considered steampunk rap? Whatever it is, I found it funny.
Just Glue Some Gears On It (And Call It Steampunk), by Sir Reginald Pikedevant, Esq

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you think. If you have a makeup or special fx website, I would love to hear about it.

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Portfolio: www.makeupdrshari.com

2 thoughts on “Projects: Steampunk pocket watch prop

  1. I look forward to seeing your steampunk pocket watch. I have only dealt in steampunk home decor so I hope that you post a picture. Gears, springs, and a mini hour glass would be my idea. Good luck with it.

Leave a Reply

