New lycan suit is better


Lycan image from http://www.fearnet.com. They did a great article on Todd Masters and the new Underworld movie

To follow-up on yesterday’s blog, I was getting ready email Todd Masters of MastersFX. Suddenly, I remembered that I have a job coming up next month, but I won’t know my work dates until December 1.  I will contact him after the first.  Or…. maybe I should just email him the questions instead of trying to run him down for an interview?

Until then, here is a tidbit I found online about Todd Masters and his work on the upcoming Underworld: Awakening movie….

The new lycan prosthetic suit
Fearnet.com reported that Todd Masters worked closely with Patrick Tatopoulos and Steve Wang on the Underworld 4, new lycan suit design concept. Making it easier to move around in and a better design than the previous suits.

It’s great to hear that Masters, Tatopoulos and Wang get along so well. I hear so much about the  cattiness of artist in the industry. It’s nice to have the major players setting a good example for the rest of us.

Anyway, I am interested to see if I can get a peek at those designs, find out more about the process of making prosthetic suits for feature films, and how special fx makeup is affected by CG.

Also, I have always wanted to make a prosthetic monster suit. I understand the basic concept of creating a prosthetic suits. I know enough to know, there is a lot more for me to learn.  Prosthetic suits are a MAJOR undertaking. Is it even possible that it can be done outside of a shop? Maybe Mr. Masters can give me some advice that I can post for all those interested in giving it a go? Maybe? Time will tell.

Have you ever made a prosthetic monster suit outside or inside of a shop?
Holla at ya girl and let me know what you did. Send pics and links

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you think. If you have a makeup or special fx website, I would love to hear about it.

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Examiner.com Articles: LA Makeup Examiner

Leave a Reply

