Books: Designing Movie Creatures and Characters


I am loving this book!

Designing Movie Creatures and Characters
When I woke up out of my tryptophan coma this afternoon, I realized that I missed Black Friday shopping. Not that I have money or the upper body strength to battle my way through the crowds. However, I did pick up a gem of a book the other day called, “Designing Movie Creatures and Characters: Behind the scenes with the movie masters”, by Richard Rickitt, printed by Focal Press. It retails from $36.95, but you can probably  find it on Amazon for less.

Why I love this book
This book is specifically about monster makers. The book list the special fx makeup artist and their works.  People like Tom Woodruff Jr., Alec Gillis, Steve Wang, Howard Berger and many, many more. You get to see pictures of sculpts, sketches and a behind the scenes look at the works in progress. If you are interested in finding out who is behind the movie magic of character makeup and animatronics, this is the book for you. I am happily making this my required reading for the holiday weekend.

What www.FocalPress.com says about author Richard Rickitt
“Richard Rickitt is Director of Clockwork Digital, which creates graphics, animation and special effects for film and TV. He is also the author of ‘Special Effects: The History and Technique.’ Richard regularly gives talks and lectures on special effects and he also contributes occasional articles about filmmaking and special effects to various magazines.”

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you think. If you have a makeup or special fx website, I would love to hear about it.

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Examiner.com Articles: LA Makeup Examiner

Leave a Reply

