Happy Veterans Day 2011


Soldiers of the 353rd Infantry near a church at Stenay, Meuse in France, wait for the end of hostilities. This photo was taken at 10:58 a.m., on November 11, 1918, two minutes before the armistice ending World War I went into effect. Image from http://www.va.gov/opa/vetsday/vetdayhistory.asp

Happy Veterans Day!

Thank you to all those in the armed forces who served our country, and to their families as well.  As a special fx makeup artist I periodically have to create faux effects of blood and war, however I realize the real thing is not fun.

My grandfather (may he rest in peace) served in the Korean War and my dad served in the Vietnam war.  My family members were blessed to come back home in one piece (at least physically, if not emotionally), when so many were not as fortunate.

So, I thought it would be nice to take a break from talking about movie make-believe and say a big “THANK YOU!” to those that make it possible for me to live in a free country and follow my dreams.

If you are interested in learning a little more about how Veterans Day came about, check out this link from the US Dept of Veterans Affairs.

Images from www.va.gov

One thought on “Happy Veterans Day 2011

Leave a Reply

