Post Halloween blues…..


Honey could barely get out of bed this morning. Poor dear was so sad Halloween is over.

It’s November 1st and that means I made it through my 31 Days of Halloween series! I would like to say “Thank  You!!” to everyone who stuck it out with me. I am so happy!

Now that it’s all over, my dog Honey and I are feeling a little down too. I am not sure what her reason’s are. Maybe it was one too many Pup-Peroni Treats?  Or the excitement of barking at children demanding candy at her front door all evening long.

I am not even sure about my feelings. Is it me crashing from all the candy and junk food I had last night? Or if it’s from all the excitement of getting ready for the big day. All the costume and makeup ideas.  Now that’s it’s all over, I have to go back to my hum-drum life, where I am just plain old Shari. 😦

Or maybe it’s because I will have to go back to talking about regular beauty products. I know that I started my blog  discussing mascara and blush, but I have really enjoyed writing about character makeup & special fx for a month. Special fx & character makeup were a big part of my studies at Vancouver Film School, where I completed their 1 year program for Makeup Design for Film and Television. However, most of my recent freelance work has been beauty makeup. Last month I was reminded how much fun prosthetics and blood can be.

The transformation that takes place when I do a beauty makeup is so amazing, but the transformation of a character makeup, or the way people react to special fx, is on another level.  So now, I am torn on whether or not I should go back to writing about the wide array of fun beauty products out there and how to use them. OR…  focus my blog on the way makeup helps us believe in magic and characters that only exist in our imaginations (well…and on tv and movies too), through the art of special fx & character makeup.  Decisions, decisions…. what’s a girl to do?

In the mean time. I am going to try to coax Honey off the couch so we can go for a much-needed walk. Maybe we will both get out of our funk. Or at least make our way over to the Tutti Frutti place. I got a hankering for some pistachio & peanut butter frozen yogurt!

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you think. If you have a makeup or special fx website, I would love to hear about it.

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Portfolio: www.makeupdrshari.com 

2 thoughts on “Post Halloween blues…..

  1. I’m sorry you feel that way 😦 I’ve never thought of it that way, but Halloween would be a very exciting day for people who do FX make-up!I am actually excited to vist your site today now that it is after Halloween because I am squeamish around blood and zombies. I don’t go out for Halloween, although I saw someone dressed as Jesus!

Leave a Reply

