31 Days of Halloween Makeup – Day 31: My YouTube Zombie Makeup Tutorial


Before zombie-fication

Day 31:  My YouTube Zombie Makeup Tutorial
Today is Halloween!!! In honor of today (the last day of my 31 Days of Halloween series!) I have posted a few of my own YouTube tutorials – a zombie makeup look, AND how to make black blood to go with your zombie look. I am new to making videos, so please be kind in your reviews. After this process, I have a lot of respect for people who can put out a decent YouTube video. It’s different doing makeup behind the scenes, as opposed to  doing makeup in front of the camera as a demonstration for others.

Zombie Makeup Tutorial
This one was about 30 mins worth of work that was condensed down to 5 mins for YouTube.  You can achieve a similar look using just about any type cosmetic face/body paints. Use a red eyeliner to create a blood-shot look for the eyes.

How to make black zombie blood
 This is a quick tutorial on how to make black blood you can use on your body or as mouth blood. It’s great to spit up while you stagger around as a zombie. However, it is NOT meant for use in or around the eyes. This video was fun to make. The coffee was very better, even with sugar added. If you don’t like coffee, use undiluted chocolate syrup instead. 

 

I hope you enjoyed watching these videos as much as I enjoyed making them. Like most artist, it’s hard for me to look at my own work. I am using the products from my makeup kit. If you don’t have the same products, just remember a few points:

After being zombie-fied Walt got into the character

Pale, or wash out the skin:
If you don’t have Skin Illustrator, you can use a foundation lighter than your own skin tone with a hint of white to it.

Mottle the skin:
This means applying an irregular arrangement of spots or patches of color to the skin in bruisey, blue tones, to resemble dead skin. Throw in a little green and yellow shades as well.

No prosthetics, no problem:
If you don’t have prosthetics, just apply blood in the area where your wound would be. Especially if you have thick, jam blood, you can create the illusion of the wound.

I would like to thank my model/camera man, Walt Grassl for his time and patience on these videos. Now, I have to go buy some candy and get ready for the trick or treat’ers.

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you think. If you have a makeup or special fx website, I would love to hear about it.

Twitter: @MakeupDrShari
Facebook: MakeupDrShari
Portfolio: www.makeupdrshari.com 

2 thoughts on “31 Days of Halloween Makeup – Day 31: My YouTube Zombie Makeup Tutorial

Leave a Reply

