31 Days of Halloween Makeup – Day 7: Bruise Wheels


For this look I added a bruising to enhance the cuts & blood

Bruise Wheels
Bruise wheels are handy little makeup sets that help you create a variety of trauma looks.  Each wheel provides a rich color scheme to create your desired injury. If you have a Halloween look you want to create and you need a bruise or two to spruce it up, you can use a bruise wheel. Or you could go to a dive bar and pick a fight. I don’t know about you, but I am going to choose the wheel.

Ben Nye's Master Bruise Wheel from http://www.mallatts.com


Different Types of Bruise Wheels

There are a variety of bruise wheels to choose from, depending on what you need. Here is a list of the different wheels available. I like the Master Bruise Wheel, as it contains six colors and I feel it gives me the most options.

Death Wheel
Monster Wheel
Bruises
Cuts & Bruises
Master Bruise Wheel
Bruise & Abrasions
Burns & Blisters
Trauma Simulation Wheel

 5 Tips For Using a Bruise Wheel

  1. Plan your bruises
    Think about the type of bruise you want to create.  How did it come about? How old is the bruise? This will dictate the color and size.
  2. Coloring your bruise
    You can create a one color bruise with just the deep plum bruise tone color. Or, depending on the type of bruise, mix in a little blue, green and/or yellow. When you have decided What type of bruise you want, find reference pictures to help you pick the colors needed.  Then have fun with it!
  3. Powder between layers
    Because you are layering different cream makeup colors, it is necessary to set each color with powder. Use a velour puff and translucent powder.
  4. Sponges to use 
    Use a textured sponge or stipple sponge for a more realistic, broken up look
  5. Uneven edges
    Often when coloring things, we want to make them symmetrical. Just remember that bruises naturally have an uneven edges.

Note:
The bruises I posted here are ones I create to be in brighter light. If you are creating a bruise look to show off at a party with low lights, you will want to make the colors more intense.


I used wax and mottling to break up the colors on this broken nose look

READ. COMMENT. CONNECT!
Please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you think.  Also comment if you have tips you want to share with the world and link back to your blog.

2 thoughts on “31 Days of Halloween Makeup – Day 7: Bruise Wheels

  1. Keep up the brilliant work! I love your blog! It is helping me so much already and I’ve only been on here for 15 minutes! Thank you for sharing all of your wonderful knowledge, all the best Charlotte xxx

    • Thank you so much for your kind words Charlotte! I haven’t blogged in a while because I got busy with on set makeup work and I felt like I wasn’t making a difference. I really appreciate you taking the time to write me. It has really lifted my spirits!

Leave a Reply

